Hot Cross Buns (and my take on Easter)

Easter is fast approaching but I reckon there’s just enough time to crack on with some last minute baking before family arrive. Cue my Hot Cross Bun recipe.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have a bit of a sultana complex in the fact that I dislike them so much that I feel like I’m actually chewing on a slug whenever I eat them, not fun! So these are sultana free but packed full of a mix of slightly less traditional dried fruit! I think the mixture makes these  so much more special.

I found a ‘luxury berry mix’ in my local health food shop and it contains dried cranberries, blueberries, golden berries (cape gooseberry/physalis) and raisins.

Cape gooseberries are a little sharper and have a satisfying crunch to them, which when mixed with all the other berries adds so much depth.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A candid shot of my mum eating one of of these straight out of the oven. Apparently they smelled too good to wait until after I’d finished taking photos 😉

I’ll pop the recipe at the bottom!

I remember childish conversations with my older brother about whether we’d stand in front of each other if one of our lives was at risk (morbid, I know!) and I’m sure we came to the conclusion that we’d take a bullet for each other. Thinking as an adult, I know I love my brother and all my family and friends so much but I obviously  hope to never be in that situation. It makes the story of Easter so much more real for me though.

As a Christian, Easter is so much more to me than hot cross buns, chocolate eggs and bunny rabbits. It is a time to remember the importance of Jesus’ death on the cross, and how it means that through him, we can come to God our father and have a very personal relationship with him.

I was reading Isaiah 53 and verse 5 says ‘But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was on him, and by his wounds we are healed.’

We are healed. Jesus has taken that bullet for us. For me. No ifs and no buts. God loves me so so much that he let his son die (and rise from the dead) as a sacrifice to pay for my sins so that I could be close to him.

That’s love.

I can talk about hypothetically dying for my family but I haven’t. But Jesus did. He did it for me because he loves me. How beautiful is that?

For those of you that aren’t Christians that read my blog, heres the recipe now, I promise!!

Ingredients:

275ml Milk

1 tsp/ Half a Sachet of Fast Action Yeast

2 tbsp Sugar

2 tbsp oil

500g Plain Flour

1tsp Salt

1 tsp All Spice

1 tsp Cinnamon

1 tsp Nutmeg

1/2 tsp Cloves

1/2 tsp Ginger

100g Raisins

100g Mixed Peel or Luxury Dried Berry mix (cranberries/blueberries/golden berries/raisins)

Zest and juice of 2 Oranges

Crosses

6 tbsp Plain Flour

3 tbsp Water

Mix to a paste

Glaze

2 tbsp Caster Sugar

4 tbsp Fresh Orange Juice

Method

Heat the milk in a saucepan until its warm but you can still dip a finger in it comfortably.  Off the heat mix in the yeast and sugar and set aside

In a separate bowl, mix together your flour, spices, salt, zest and dried fruit.

Pour in the oil, milk mixture and orange juice. Bring all the ingredients together by hand until you have a combined dough.

Very lightly flour a board and knead the dough for 5 minutes until it is smooth.

Leave it in an oiled bowl, cover with oiled cling film and place in a warm spot for about an hour, or until its doubled in size.

Knead for another 10 minutes and divide into 12 equal balls.

Preheat oven to 190 degrees celsius.

Place spaced out in a lined baking tray, cover with oiled cling film and leave to prove for another 1 hour until they have doubled in size again.

Once proved, remove the cling film, pipe over the flour mixture in crosses and put in the oven for 2o minutes until golden.

Whilst they are baking, put your glaze ingredients in a pan and boil for 5-6 minutes until it has a syrupy consistency.

Brush over the warm buns.

Break open and serve with a generous spread of butter.

Enjoy! Millie xxxx

 

Leave a Reply

