Messy Eclairs

Lemon and Berry Eclairs

I’ll be completely honest, I had no plan to make or photograph these eclairs for my blog- hence the slightly disheveled decoration. But then I thought ‘why not! They still look cute!’. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The mixture of the sweet but lemony cream and tart berries is such a delicate, classic pairing and makes a delicious alternative to your regular chocolate eclair.

As there were a few left the day after, I got my brother to take some photos (payment in eclairs obviously) so if the icing has gone patchy from the juices in the berries that’s why! I’d recommend topping them with berries just before serving.

I am a bit of a perfectionist and these don’t look quite as neat as I’d like but I promise they tasted good.

I’ll pop the recipe and ingredients below.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I managed to find a choux pastry recipe from Sadaharu Aoki, a top pastry chef in Paris, and I just improvised when it came to the glaze and filling!

Choux Pastry Ingredients (makes approx. 15 13cm eclairs) :

75g water, milk, and butter

5g salt and sugar

100g strong white flour (sifted)

3 eggs (gently beaten)

Piping bag and small nozzle with about 16 teeth

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Method: Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius

  1. Gently simmer the milk, water, butter, sugar and salt in a pan until the butter has melted.
  2. Remove from the heat and stir in all the flour until it is fully combined.
  3. Place back on the heat and and mix the dough for about two minutes to cook out the flour. Be careful not to scrape off the starchy layer that will appear at the bottom of the pan.
  4. Take off the heat and stir for another two minutes to release some steam. Add in half the eggs and mix until combined.
  5. Slowly add in the remaining eggs making sure it is all combined well.
  6. With the nozzle in the piping bag, place the pastry into the bag and carefully pipe about 15 lines onto a baking sheet with baking paper on. Each one should be about 13 inches long maximum.
  7. Dust with icing sugar and bake for 35 minutes or until a deeper golden brown colour is achieved.Leave to cool completely.

Filling and Topping

For the filling I just whisked until soft peaks a small tub of double cream (whipping cream is probably better as its a bit lighter but I made do with the ingredients I had) 1 tbsp icing sugar, the zest of 1 lemon and 2 tsp lemon juice. Put the cream in a piping bag, make a hole in the end of the eclair and pipe it in!

For the glaze, I defrosted a handful of mixed berries and separated the juice that they produced into a small bowl. The berry juice adds a natural pink flush to the icing, but feel free to colour with gel food colourings.

I then mixed about 200g of icing sugar, with a couple of the teaspoons of berry juice and a good squeeze of lemon juice until I got a thick water icing mixture. Dip the eclairs in the icing, scatter with berries and you are done!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere is nothing better than a freshly made eclair – the cream has had no time to make the pastry soggy so you get the perfect balance between the crisp outer shell and the soft centre.

Enjoy! Millie xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

